Put Car on Roof, Remove, Repeat

1965 Mustang on observation deck of Empire State Building / Image Courtesy:  Ford

1965 Mustang on observation deck of Empire State Building / Image Courtesy: Ford

My Dad used to wow my brother and me with a story about how he and his high school buddies disassembled a Volkswagen Bug in the school’s parking lot only to reassemble it on the school’s roof.  I can’t recall whether it was a senior prank or an act of machismo but I do know I was impressed at the sheer logistics involved.

Turns out, he wasn’t the first or even the last to undertake such a stunt.  In 1965 Ford chopped a Mustang into three pieces for transporting to the observation deck of the Empire State Building where it was once again made whole.  Not only that but in celebration of the Pony Car’s 50th birthday, the Blue Oval will tackle the project again this year, only with the slightly larger 2015 Mustang.  Look for the redesigned ‘Stang to appear atop the landmark April 16-18th, immediately preceding the New York International Auto Show.

Now that I think about it my Dad is a Ford guy which, I guess, proves great minds do think alike.  But I’ll bet, unlike my Dad who got punished for his car-raising prank, none of the Ford workers will wind up suspended.

Source:  http://autos.yahoo.com/news/ford-put-mustang-atop-empire-state-building-again-160023139.html

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

