Really, Silver?

 Top 10 Global Vehicle Colors:                                                           

1. Silver – 26%
2. Black/Black Effect – 24%
3. White/White Pearl and Gray – 16%
4. Red – 6%
5. Blue – 5%
6. Brown/Beige 3%
7. Green – 2%
8. Yellow – 1%
9. Gold – 1%
10. Others – <1%
Source:  DuPont’s 58th Global Automotive Color Popularity Report , 2010 

It’s the kind of information you’d realize you knew if only you took the time to think about it:  that is, that the most popular car color in the world is silver, at least according to DuPont’s 58th Global Automotive Color Popularity Report.  Apparently, it has been for years now. For some reason I’m surprised.  Maybe because one has to have a sense of the subtle to appreciate a more modest hue like silver, and nobody’s ever mistaken me for subtle.  Maybe because I’ve never owned a silver vehicle and don’t know what I’m missing.  Or maybe, because I’ve never thought about it.

As I sit here in my office at Butler’s Ashland dealership, however, it occurs to me that a majority of the dozens of vehicles within my view are, in fact, silver.

I’m intrigued.  Of the 7 vehicles I’ve owned – or more accurately, that some bank has owned – only one was purchased regardless of color, and that was simply because it was purchased without my knowledge (It was my first vehicle: a 1976 Datsun pick-up, which my folks paid for in part by raiding my bank account.  But that’s another story.)   When I was involved in the decision, color definitely played a role.  My vehicles have been white, black, red, or blue.  Come to think of it, that sums up the spectrum of my wardrobe, too.

Which is exactly my point.  I pick cars because they “fit” me – make, model and color match my personality.  I’m an “all or nothing” kind of girl; I like things simple, definite, basic… like primary colors.  So maybe I just don’t speak the “silver” language.  I’d love to learn, though.   Maybe someone will help me?  I mean, 26-percent of the population can’t be wrong!

www.butlerman.com

                                                          
        

Leave a comment